PDA

View Full Version : Do Ya Feel ...

Chris Hamilton
10-06-2004, 11:23 AM
... that there is still a lot of subtle (or not-so-subtle) bias against female pipers? I still sometimes encounter disparaging remarks about them being unable to blow tone or play up there with the "big boys".

I was taught by a female piper for the first seven years, and I'm sure I wouldn't be a tenth the player I am today without the solid grounding she gave me. I also regularly hear and teach excellent female players.

I don't know ... I'm surprised I still hear the "chicks can't pipe" attitude.

Chris

Celtic Mitch
10-06-2004, 12:50 PM
Chris, back in the good 'ole days, they couldn't drum either! My first drumming teacher was female also. When I graduated up into the competition world I had a heck of a time convincing a couple of guys in the side corps that I was good enough to play beside them.

Many, many times I was blamed for mistakes and cut because of the mistakes...that were not made by me. Only years later did I have a long chat with my lead tip at the time and he told me he knew it wasn't me and was trying to catch out who it was...but he never did. Not because he wasn't observant, but because the mistakes were probably made on purpose. Weird eh?

HotScot
10-06-2004, 01:18 PM