Bob Dunsire Bagpipe Forums

Bob Dunsire Bagpipe Forums (http://forums.bobdunsire.com/forums/index.php)
-   Side / Snare (http://forums.bobdunsire.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=351)
-   -   Learning online for drumming noobs (http://forums.bobdunsire.com/forums/showthread.php?t=167579)

Shantyboat 12-23-2018 09:40 AM

Learning online for drumming noobs

I'm a total newbie. For others like me I am going to report on the path I will be taking... group lessons with online instruction from https://www.rhythm-monster.com

Why the online lessons? I am very motivated to progress quickly and am willing to practice many hours per week. My plan is to learn some fundamentals online and get reality checks from the in-person lessons.

Yes, I can think of problems with this path. Feel free to share them for future noobs below, but I am going to go this way.

Quick background. I am a classically trained French horn player. I collect unusual instruments and play the basics on a few of them, from Surbahar to Sheng, to Cristal Baschet.

I am not paid by them, I simply want to document my progress, good or bad. In part, it is an obsession of mine, and I hope it will be useful to others. If I like this path, I'll share. If I don't, I will share.

Background:

You can subscribe month to month on Rhythm Monster, so unlike the big options for pipers, you don't have to plunk down a wad of cash to start. I haven't explored the full options yet, but they claim they have material for beginners to experts. Snare, Tenor and Bass drums. There is a free sample membership.

Progress so far:

I've gone down two lesson tracks.

Scottish Pipe Band Snare Drum Tutor Volume 1: Physical Fundamentals, which in the first two lessons has covered some basics such as stance and proper grip. The first of the video lessons is 45 minutes, the next 25 minutes. It is supplemented with text, links to more, and timestamps for the video. There is also an exercise provided.