Bob Dunsire Bagpipe Forums

Bob Dunsire Bagpipe Forums (http://forums.bobdunsire.com/forums/index.php)
-   Technique & Instrument Archive (http://forums.bobdunsire.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=379)
-   -   higher quality / more expensive practice chanters (http://forums.bobdunsire.com/forums/showthread.php?t=153231)

Jethro 10-29-2013 10:51 AM

higher quality / more expensive practice chanters

Anyone make the switch from a poly chanter to a $300.00 + blackwood chanter? Considering some options and wondered how the experience was. I've been playing a poly for 20 years and figured a step up might be a real treat. Thanks!

flares2 10-29-2013 11:09 AM

Re: higher quality / more expensive practice chanters

I think it's about personal preference. My opinion is that the higher end ABW practice chanters don't sound all that much better than a poly chanter. Blackwood may sound a bit better, but I can't justify the cost for a practice chanter.

Also, in terms of aesthetics, I don't see the point in putting silver or other expensive materials on a practice chanter unless you're fishing for compliments around the band table. No one's ever gonna see you perform on a practice chanter and you'll spend the majority of the time practicing it alone at home, so why bother?

John Bolt 10-29-2013 11:10 AM

I have a $450 PC from one of the best known makers that I tried really hard to like that I tried 4 or 5 different reeds in that I just don't like the sound of that sits in a drawer in favor of a lowly McCallum poly PC

Patrick McLaurin 10-29-2013 11:37 AM

I won a silver engraved blackwood Naill practice chanter through a raffle. It's really nice. But, as with these things, you have to have the right reed for it to sound nice.

I'm using an old Walsh, though the easy strength Boyd sounds pretty good too. Better than in my poly Walsh, McCallum, and Booth (though the Booth is really nice sounding too).

I used to play another old blackwood Naill that was really nice.