Welcome to
the forums at bobdunsire.com
bobdunsire.com forums bobdunsire.com forums
You can reset your password by going here. Be sure to try your current email and any email addresses you may have had in the past.
Otherwise please use the Contact Us link at the bottom of the forums. In order to help you, please provide the following info: Your Display Name from the old forum and any possible email addresses you would have used before. Without that info we cannot locate your account.

Go Back   Bob Dunsire Bagpipe Forums > Great Highland Bagpipe > Beginners, Intermediate, +
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Beginners, Intermediate, + Discuss issues, tackle problems, share experiences, ask questions, and look for specific help...

Platinum Sponsors

Old 08-04-2008, 07:24 AM   #1
Polybius
Forum Member

Default D-Throw freeze up

Hi folks. I've been playing the PC for about three months now and have recently experienced something new and troubling related to D-throws. Particularly when going from a low A to a D-throw (currently working on 10th HLI) I am 'freezing up' on the low A. I can play the D-throw fairly well for someone at my experience level - so I am told by my instructor - but I'm getting this freeze up where my fingers just refuse to do what I tell them. It is very unnerving to say the least.

Has anyone ever experienced this with a D-throw or any other movement? What did you do to get over it?

My instructor is having me repeatedly practice D-throws from all the different notes, up and down the scale. Not sure it is helping yet.
Polybius is offline   Reply With Quote
Gold Sponsor
Old 08-04-2008, 07:41 AM   #2
Bruce Wright
Holy smoking keyboard!

Default Re: D-Throw freeze up

Hard to say for sure without watching you, but my guess would be that your hands are too tight - either holding onto the chanter too tight or holding your fingers too stiffly straight.