Welcome to
the forums at bobdunsire.com
bobdunsire.com forums bobdunsire.com forums
You can reset your password by going here. Be sure to try your current email and any email addresses you may have had in the past.
Otherwise please use the Contact Us link at the bottom of the forums. In order to help you, please provide the following info: Your Display Name from the old forum and any possible email addresses you would have used before. Without that info we cannot locate your account.

Go Back   Bob Dunsire Bagpipe Forums > Great Highland Bagpipe > Beginners, Intermediate, +
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Beginners, Intermediate, + Discuss issues, tackle problems, share experiences, ask questions, and look for specific help...

Platinum Sponsors

Old 01-16-2018, 09:22 AM   #1
brewingjt100
Forum Member - Shy or Quiet

Default Breath size

Hi,
I've searched around but can't find anything to address my question specifically. I am a beginner (with an instructor) and been on the pipes about a month. I was wondering about my inhale. Should i be taking a full breath from the diaphram, inflating the bag to full, exhale remaining breath after the bag is full, squeeze and then take another full breath, exhale etc. When I say “exhale” I mean do I exhale the remaing air in my lungs around the blowpipe (or shouldnt there be much air left to exhale?) i.e. smaller half breaths.I hope i explained it properly.
Thank you,
John T

Last edited by brewingjt100; 01-16-2018 at 10:05 AM.
brewingjt100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Gold Sponsor
Old 01-16-2018, 10:42 AM   #2
el gaitero
Holy smoking keyboard!

Default Re: Breath size

Quote:
Originally Posted by brewingjt100 View Post
Hi,