Welcome to
the forums at bobdunsire.com
bobdunsire.com forums bobdunsire.com forums
You can reset your password by going here. Be sure to try your current email and any email addresses you may have had in the past.
Otherwise please use the Contact Us link at the bottom of the forums. In order to help you, please provide the following info: Your Display Name from the old forum and any possible email addresses you would have used before. Without that info we cannot locate your account.


Go Back   Bob Dunsire Bagpipe Forums > Great Highland Bagpipe > Beginners, Intermediate, +
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Beginners, Intermediate, + Discuss issues, tackle problems, share experiences, ask questions, and look for specific help...

Platinum Sponsors
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-19-2006, 09:19 PM   #11
the Jamesinator
Forum Member - Shy or Quiet
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Thunder Bay
Posts: 23
Default Re: Loud metronome

There's these things that look like ear plugs that are actually metronomes that plug into your ears that so you can hear it while piping, not sure where to buy them though
the Jamesinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Gold Sponsor
Old 04-19-2006, 09:52 PM   #12
Steve S.
Forum Gold Medal
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Edgewater, MD
Posts: 539
Default Re: Loud metronome

I have a Korg and have used an earphone to hear while I am playing the pipes.
Steve S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2006, 11:01 PM   #13
EvilScotsman
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Benton, AR
Posts: 207
Default Re: Loud metronome

If you Google "metrognome" you can find plenty of places to buy one.
EvilScotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 09:08 AM   #14
Fergie too
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Work... Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 84
Default Re: Loud metronome

I have the Tama Rhythm Watch 105 as well. What we've done with the band is connect it to a pre or small amp (as used for electric guitar practice) and it was easily heard. We could even hear it with the whole pipe corp going (although not as well).
Fergie too is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 03:31 PM   #15
Chanter Snapper
Forum Member - Shy or Quiet
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12
Default Re: Loud metronome

Quote:
Originally posted by Aaron M:
You want it heard over a full set of GHB, and not just a practice chanter, correct?
Exactly, my pipes are awesomely loud and just looking for something I can hear the tapy tap tap, without having external amps....I currently practice at a park outside, thus the amp idea is moot cause well..no electric plugs...I do however have a power inverter installed in the jeep, but dont want to run the battery dead from an amp . I will check out these other ones people have been mentioning and see if they fit my needs...otherwise its ear piece.
__________________
I pipe therefore I am.
Chanter Snapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 05:55 PM   #16
Holly Scott
Forum Member - Shy or Quiet
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: central florida
Posts: 10
Default Re: Loud metronome

I bought one of these (seiko dm50), and I just clip it to my drone cords or shirt collar. I can hear it indoors or out (and I play with earplugs).

http://www.metronomes.net/metronomes/SeikoDm50.htm
__________________
www.tampabaypipeband.com
Holly Scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 08:34 PM   #17
SFPIPER
Forum Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Southern Pines, NC
Posts: 230
Default Re: Loud metronome

Korg makes a metrognome...you wear it like an ear plug. Turn it on, set the tempo, clip it to your ear and away you go. I got mine shipped to my door for under $25.
v/r
R
__________________
“Cogito, ergo armatum sum: I think, therefore I am armed.”

SFPIPER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 11:17 PM   #18
John S. Foley
Holy smoking keyboard!
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Covina, CA, USA
Posts: 1,086
Default Re: Loud metronome

If you do decide to go with an amp, Dean Markley makes a little 3watt battery powered that's only about $20-$25 bucks. I've got one, and it works pretty good. I think that you can bargain on the price too, if you go into the store.

http://www.guitarvision.com/mf/mf_frameset.htm
John S. Foley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 02:49 PM   #19
Thunderstick
Forum Member - Shy or Quiet
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KCMO
Posts: 23
Default Re: Loud metronome

I have a Korg and you can plug headphones into it. I have a high dollar set of racing headphones with 25db noise reduction.

Just a thought....
Thunderstick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 05:41 PM   #20
SerialKilter.
Holy smoking keyboard!
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 3,047
Default Re: Loud metronome

Buy one with an audio output and you can connect it directly to your stereo. Its not really hooking it up to your amp. Infact maybe a set of decent computer speakers only should do it. Can't get louder then that.
SerialKilter. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Silver Sponsor

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:16 PM.