Welcome to
the forums at bobdunsire.com
bobdunsire.com forums bobdunsire.com forums
You can reset your password by going here. Be sure to try your current email and any email addresses you may have had in the past.
Otherwise please use the Contact Us link at the bottom of the forums. In order to help you, please provide the following info: Your Display Name from the old forum and any possible email addresses you would have used before. Without that info we cannot locate your account.

Go Back   Bob Dunsire Bagpipe Forums > Great Highland Bagpipe > Pipe Bands
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Pipe Bands For everything or anything related to Pipe Bands..

Platinum Sponsors

Old 12-27-2005, 09:51 AM   #1
Demas
Forum Member

Default help tuning a pipe band...

I live in a town of about 110,000 people in the middle of West Texas. I am self taught (I know, I know… Mr. pro pipers, I’m not supposed to teach myself…but you try living in the sticks and drive 3 hours for proper lessons!) I have been playing for about 4 years and me and another guy have been playing together for about 3 years now. We are aiding some other people on bagpipes and have a small and very ghetto pipe band. www.abilenepipers.com (don’t listen to the sound files, those are about 1.5 years old!) We do it for fun and the community. Lots of times we are in tune, but, we all play with different reeds, different strengths, different pipes, different chanters (dunfion, dunbar, mccallum, Hughes). I was wanting to know how to properly stay in almost perfect tune with everyone and how to make it easy for us to play for long periods of time. What is the process to stay in tune?… Just to let you know, we have two people that have a very hard time blowing. One piper is a 61 year old woman, so she can only play very easy reeds. Me and the other main piper always play medium reeds that are usually Ross or Ceol Mor. The rest of the pipers usually use easy ceol mor, soutar, ross