Welcome to
the forums at bobdunsire.com
bobdunsire.com forums bobdunsire.com forums
You can reset your password by going here. Be sure to try your current email and any email addresses you may have had in the past.
Otherwise please use the Contact Us link at the bottom of the forums. In order to help you, please provide the following info: Your Display Name from the old forum and any possible email addresses you would have used before. Without that info we cannot locate your account.

Go Back   Bob Dunsire Bagpipe Forums > Other (not GH) Bagpipes > Uilleann, Northumbrian, Smallpipes +
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Uilleann, Northumbrian, Smallpipes + For all types of (non GH) Bagpiping discussions.

Platinum Sponsors

Old 06-09-2019, 03:32 PM   #1
murray c
Forum Member - Shy or Quiet

Default Tunes for a new smallpiper

Hello. I'm new to piping and eagerly awaiting a set of Walsh pipes in A in the mail.

I know it may be a while before I get to where I can actually play a tune, but I'd like some suggestions for slow airs I could begin with...I'm more familiar with Irish Trad... now for this instrument I need to start listening and learning to the Scottish tunes.

I'm not really interested in progressing to highland pipes, and I'm not really drawn to the more formal, marching style..(please no offense if I've misinterpreted this or if GHP is your focus..) I'd like to play in the looser, folkier way I've heard some smallpipers play.

Anyway, if anyone has any suggestions for slow tunes, or for pipers I should listen to, please let me know...I can get to work learning the tunes on fiddle and whistle while i'm figuring out how to make the pipes work.

ps. I just found Brighde Chaimbeul on youtube and have been enjoying her stuff
murray c is offline   Reply With Quote
Gold Sponsor
Old 06-09-2019, 07:10 PM   #2
Lochie
Forum Regular

Default Re: tunes for a new smallpiper