Welcome to
the forums at bobdunsire.com
bobdunsire.com forums One of the largest message boards on the web ! bobdunsire.com forums
You can reset your password by going here. Be sure to try your current email and any email addresses you may have had in the past.
Otherwise please use the Contact Us link at the bottom of the forums. In order to help you, please provide the following info: Your Display Name from the old forum and any possible email addresses you would have used before. Without that info we cannot locate your account.

Go Back   Bob Dunsire Bagpipe Forums > Great Highland Bagpipe > Beginners, Intermediate, +
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Beginners, Intermediate, + Discuss issues, tackle problems, share experiences, ask questions, and look for specific help...

Old 10-12-2020, 02:17 PM   #1
Davidck
Forum Member

Default What reaction do you get when playing in public?

I started learning the bagpipes in June, and my instructor thought I progressed quickly enough on the chanter that I moved on to the actual pipes in about a month. Then I moved out of my house and into an apartment in a large city, where I’ll be for three years. As such, the only time I get to play my GHB is when I go to a nearby park and do so—though I also now have smallpipes that I play at home.

I’m still in the “beginner” range, though I can play some songs (namely Amazing Grace and Highland Cathedral) pretty well, with some occasional lapses in air. Despite not yet being a good player, I find that I attract a crowd of listeners anywhere I go. I even had an elderly couple singing along to “It’s a Long Way to Tipperary” yesterday. I suppose it’s just the novelty of seeing someone playing the bagpipes in public, combined with the fact that they can’t tell I’m actually making mistakes, but I’m wondering if this is just how people tend to react.
Davidck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2020, 04:35 PM   #2
olypiper
Holy smoking keyboard!