Welcome to
the forums at bobdunsire.com
bobdunsire.com forums
bobdunsire.com forums bobdunsire.com forums
You can reset your password by going here. Be sure to try your current email and any email addresses you may have had in the past.
Otherwise please use the Contact Us link at the bottom of the forums. In order to help you, please provide the following info: Your Display Name from the old forum and any possible email addresses you would have used before. Without that info we cannot locate your account.

Go Back   Bob Dunsire Bagpipe Forums > Great Highland Bagpipe > Technique & Instrument
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Technique & Instrument Related to techniques, to the instrument, to the components, to maintenance.

Platinum Sponsors

Old 01-30-2011, 08:46 AM   #1
ferraribagpiper
Forum Member

ferraribagpiper is on a distinguished road
Default Different kind of pipes?

Hi everyone-ok, I'm new to piping, but I thought I had a pretty good idea about all the different kind of pipes out there-I've seen kitchen pipes and shuttle pipes and so forth. But last night at our Burns night dinner, there was a piper in the band who had a set of GHB's that looked subtly different. The tops of the drones were different, kind of like a small wine glass. And I couldn't get a closer look, but I don't think they were combed. I hope someone here can tell me what this gentleman was playing; my google search for "bagpipes with wine glass shaped drones" didn't provide much information...
Old 01-30-2011, 08:47 AM   #2
AveryB
Forum Silver Medal

AveryB
Default Re: Different kind of pipes?

Try searching for chalice-top bagpipes. And enjoy what you find...chalice top drones with plain turned wood are my most favorite style.
AveryB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 09:44 AM   #3
Donald
Forum Member

Donald is on a distinguished road

Check out the pipes on the left side of this page. Beautiful chalice style pipes.