Welcome to
the forums at bobdunsire.com
bobdunsire.com forums
bobdunsire.com forums bobdunsire.com forums
You can reset your password by going here. Be sure to try your current email and any email addresses you may have had in the past.
Otherwise please use the Contact Us link at the bottom of the forums. In order to help you, please provide the following info: Your Display Name from the old forum and any possible email addresses you would have used before. Without that info we cannot locate your account.

Go Back   Bob Dunsire Bagpipe Forums > Great Highland Bagpipe > Beginners, Intermediate, +
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Beginners, Intermediate, + Discuss issues, tackle problems, share experiences, ask questions, and look for specific help...

Platinum Sponsors

Old 10-09-2002, 12:57 PM   #1
SkyeHigh
Forum Member

SkyeHigh
Default Chanter Reed: hard? easy? why? ...

Hi:

I'm a new piper. I've been playing the pipes for about two months (I'm up to two drones ). I've had different, experienced pipers tell me different things regarding the hardness of the chanter reed. One guy told me there's no reason for anyone to play a hard reed. Another guy, that was trying a drone reed in my set, said that my chanter reed was way too easy.

My question: how hard should a chanter reed be for a beginning piper and, most importantly, why?

I understand that the harder the reed, the louder and, hopefully, better the sound. But, when should I worry about that?

Thanks for any advice.
SkyeHigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Gold Sponsor
Old 10-09-2002, 01:14 PM   #2
tallbagpiper
Forum Silver Medal

tallbagpiper
Default Re: Chanter Reed: hard? easy? why? ...

If your chanter reed is too hard, you'll become frustated, or else wind up with cheeks like Dizzy Gillespie!

If, on the other hand, they are too easy, you'll have inferior tone, and, as I found out the hard way, your chanter will squeeal whilke striking in your pipes.