Welcome to
the forums at bobdunsire.com
bobdunsire.com forums
bobdunsire.com forums bobdunsire.com forums
You can reset your password by going here. Be sure to try your current email and any email addresses you may have had in the past.
Otherwise please use the Contact Us link at the bottom of the forums. In order to help you, please provide the following info: Your Display Name from the old forum and any possible email addresses you would have used before. Without that info we cannot locate your account.

Go Back   Bob Dunsire Bagpipe Forums > General Discussion > Do It Yourself (DIY)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Do It Yourself (DIY) Making and repairing of instruments, accessories, and more.

Platinum Sponsors

Old 03-18-2005, 01:12 PM   #1
Sophia
Forum Member - Shy or Quiet

Sophia
Default DIY otter head sporran - complete newbie

Hi guys, this site has been a lot of help to me already. In fact the only DIY help I've found on the internet. I'd like to handmake an otter-with-head sporran as a wedding present for my future groom. A few months ago, I did not know what a Sporran was, and I have never worked leather.

I know the first step is to buy an otter pelt. Will one be enough? Any idea on where to buy one with the head prepared?

I've gathered from another thread here that the pelt needs some sort of lining. What is the order? Do I glue/stitch the pelt pieces to the leather, and then sew the leather pieces together. Or do I basically make a leather sporran and then glue/stitch the otter on?

How do you sew the pieces together?

I have this pattern bookmarked which is from another thread.
http://www.nwta.com/patterns/pdfs/291sporr.pdf
Would this basic pattern apply for a head-on sporran?

Is the head and the back of the Sporran one-piece?

How do you handle the gussets on a fur Sporran?