What does a Lady Piper Wear anyway?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What does a Lady Piper Wear anyway?

I am relatively new to the piping world, but I will eventually want to play for some formal events. I haven't invested in any formal scottish wear because I am not really sure what a girl piper is supposed to wear. Do I need a kilt? A tartan skirt? Flashes? Do I just dress like all of the guys? What do I do? I would like to go ahead and take the plunge and buy whatever I would be expected to wear when I play an event, but I just need a little help figuring out what all that entails.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Melodie
    Don't ask my neighbors about my piping skills. They don't know...

The good news is that you have a lot more choice than we do...the bad news is, well, you have a lot more choice than we do :-/

One option to simply dress as the guys do, and some people do this very successfully. At the same time, I think it's fair to say it doesn't suit everyone. To some extent, there is also the factor that dressing this way can be seen as a statement of purpose, of wanting to be seen as on on a level with the men.

At the other end of the scale, there is the tartan skirt and blouse approach, which looks professional and if it's good enough for Gold Medal winners, well...! It also has the advantage of being cheaper and more comfortable.

Occasionally, and I'm hoping others can provide more concrete examples, I've seen in recent years a sort of slightly hybrid approach, with a sort of male outfit but with a feminised cut, lighter fabrics, and so forth. For what it's worth, I think this looks very professional, though it can't come cheap.