Questions, issues, or discussions specifically related to Piping and Pipers competition.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

466 Chanter for Solo Comp?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 466 Chanter for Solo Comp?

Thinking about a 466 Chanter for Competitions..

I love the feeling of the tunes at that pitch.. but do the judges?

I've never competed before.. so I have nothing to go by..

Thoughts?
    Despite attempts in old days to rid the country of bagpipers by putting them into battle, these instruments have become accepted as music.

Re: 466 Chanter for Solo Comp?

Specter.... do you mean a bflat thing? Sorry, I'm not good with the meter figures, that'll be the same as 440 on the cheap meter?

Anyway.. it will be a lot flatter? Loads to be said on this, and I've no doubt you'll get lots of replies.

Firstly, what level are you playing at? I'd say if you are at G4 (US), then you are a lot more likely to get away with it, IF you are playing well and your pipes are solid.

This is a brave move to make, and I'd admire you for it. But yer pipes better be good, or there's no point in yer little experiment. If you want placed anyway.

If you're in a higher grade, I'd think twice. Theoretically, it should make no difference. But lets face it, in reality if you go on after someone sharper, you're going to sound boggin, at least for the Ground of yer piob. Perhaps an unfair situation, but there it is.

Personally, if I'm in the US, I'm in the Professional Grade, and I need all the advantage I can use. So there's no way I'd play the lower pitched chanter. In fact, if I'm just off the plane, and my reed is still in shock, its more likely to be higher than usual.

Over here, I started back solo 3 years ago. I was quickly told by a friend, who is a solo Judge, and had heard me compete (compared to others you see, thats the important thing. ) to raise my pitch. Playings still keech, but my pitch is now fashionable.