Related to techniques, to the instrument, to the components, to maintenance.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Looking at getting a new pipe chanter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking at getting a new pipe chanter

I'm relatively new to piping (about a year) and am slowly customizing my pipe set up so that it works best for me. My present chanter (Wallace poly) has a couple of things that continue to bedevil me--namely that nothing I do to it gets it completely in tune even when blowing at consistent pressure, and the low-A is too big/low for me to get a crisp birl. (I've posted about this elsewhere and continue to struggle. The physiology of my hand is such that my pinky cannot move anywhere close to independently, and no birl method I've tried really works.)

I watched Matt Willis' video on the Colin Ryo chanter, which seems like it might help address both problems. Do folks have other recommendations? Also a more general question--what is the benefit of a blackwood versus poly chanter?

I’d suggest either the Colin Kyo or the MacCallum Gandy chanter. The holes are a pretty similar spacing, but I can’t comment on hole size as my Gandy chanter is band issue and has the holes carved a bit to allow for ease of tuning.

I have smallish hands and a pinky issue as well (though different from yours) and I can get good birls on both chanters (slightly better on the Colin Kyo than the Gandy).
    You don't have fun by winning. You win by having fun.

Comment

For reference, here are my CK and Gandy chanters side by side (CK on left, Gandy on right)
      Attached Files

Comment

Nice feet, Jim...

Andrew
        Andrew T. Lenz, Jr. • BDF Moderator
        BagpipeJourney.com - Reference for Bagpipers

Comment

davidck,

Please--do not feel lonely--for you are not the first (and
          most certainly shan't be the last) --to run head-long into
          this particular--brick wall. :-)